24
Feb
09

Digsby is adware???

Today I came across something that kinda shocked me. So, today I attempted to download Digsby, a multi-protocol IM client. I am on OpenDNS and all I have blocked is pretty much adware. Now when I clicked on the Download Now button, instead of a download page, I got this:

Digsby download site while on OpenDNS and blocking adware

Yup, that is in fact the URL of the Digsby download site. What this brought to mind was that Digsby is technically adware. If the download site is filed as such, then Digsby is ought to be infected with it. I know a few people who use Digsby, but they also use AVG. There is their problem (hehe). If you don’t believe me, try it yourself! Or I’ll make a video.

Update: A Digsby official has noted me (in the comments) that they are aware that it gets blocked, but has provided a download link which is probably somewhere where I haven’t looked. If you are looking to download Disgby, here it is.


4 Responses to “Digsby is adware???”


  1. February 25, 2009 at 7:58 am

    You can download the installer here:

    http://update.digsby.com/install/digsby_setup.exe

    Digsby contains no adware, spyware or viruses. During installation you are shown ads for other products but you can decline them and install just Digsby.

  2. February 25, 2009 at 9:40 am

    We are currently using a hosted 3rd party installer. In certain cases it does get blocked. In order to bypass these issues you can always grab the installer directly from our own site.

    http://update.digsby.com/install/digsby_setup.exe

  3. 3 khromov
    March 10, 2009 at 11:28 am

    What Jeffrey said!
    Also, Digsby comes bundled with adware-like applications, but you can choose not to insall these.

  4. March 10, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Yea, I know about that selectable stuff. Digsby is good though. :D


Leave a Reply




 

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

categories

visits

  • 4,666 hits, smacks, slaps, stabs, visits, anything of the sorts

contact osxdude

email/gtalk/msn: osxdude999 at gmail dot com skype/aim/yahoo: osxdude999 facebook: http://www.facebook.com/osxdude ustream: http://ustream.tv/osxdude